As a SAP consultant, you will encounter this problem at some point.

 

User XXXX has locked the data such that only viewing is permitted.

Would you like to view locked data?

This blog article will discuss two alternative approaches to solving this problem.

– Making use of transaction SM04

– Using the SM12 transaction

 

After seeing this video, you’ll understand how to:

1. To view every system-logged-on user, utilise SM04 Transaction.

2. End user session by choosing the user screen to close.

3. To view all locked items, use the SM12 Transaction.

4. checking the status of locked objects

5. Unlock secured items

6. Impact differences between SM04 and SM12

Important Note from Veselina Peykova *Please think about the following before applying for SM12:

  • Do not proceed until you are satisfied that you are aware of the effects of deleting specific locks.
  • The lock notion was created for a good reason, and that is to prevent inconsistencies when updating database information. The fact that such manual lock deletions are recorded in the system log is also for a good cause (SM21).
  • According to the official SAP guidelines, you should only delete lock entries if you are certain that they are invalid and that doing so won’t harm any running processes (user session, update, and so on). Data loss or inconsistencies may result from deleting a lock that is being used by an active user.

This blog video is accessible in both Arabic and English.

English:

 

Arabic:

 

SM04 and SM12 can now be used to enable data modifications when they are disabled by another user.